Unity Asset Kit Reviews – BIG Environment Pack

Unity Asset Kit Reviews – BIG Environment Pack https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/3277?aid=1101lMAW This is the BIG Environment Pack from Philipp Schmidt, 5 stars reviews on…



  1. Matias Casagrande

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Heeeyyy I think there is un update there, why dont you check that out https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/13198

  2. Bent Gimlet

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    The "BIG Environment" pack is actually great! The trees work on huge open world environments using only the built in Unity Terrain system. The grass/flowers work well and the rocks are not bad… you can scale them or the textures to get desired results. As far as "AAA" goes the demo scenes are good but not great. At the time when this developer made them, that was the tools available to make the product look similar to/or as close to popular commercial game environments. Playing demo scenes from assets and then judging them is foolish and incomplete in my opinion. I get that there are some bad ones out there, but rather then playing demo scenes and writing a review… use the asset in your own project and see how useful it is.

    Disclaimer: The Messy Coder is a really a great contributor to the indie game world and this is just me disagreeing with his approach to this asset review.

  3. Redundant Studios

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm


  4. MOGSTAT Roy

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Thank you for the Honest Review that is really refreshing !! and really Important
    I bought this pack way back when it was more expensive, at that time I guess it was a good asset but Unity has come a long way in that time.

    In my opninion this is a failure in the Unity Asset star rating system..
    If I sort the category:3D Models/Environments by Rating this asset is The Best Paid asset in that category
    see https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/search/page=1/sortby=rating/query=category:21
    That is a travesty and a huge slap in the face to all those great assets available.

    I am seeing more and more of this profiteering going on the asset store, and we need more Honest reviewers like you..

  5. Backwoods Gaming

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    One thing I noticed in the video is the mention of no effects. Actually, there are effects but they end up broken when you don't install standard assets, which most of us don't do because it typically breaks Unity. I've actually stripped some of the effects out of here to use in scenes when I couldn't figure out how to get a similar effect. Not saying your rating is off, but there are effects in the pack if people want to dig around and play with them.. Maybe install in an empty project and see if you can strip them out and get them working with standard assets from your version of Unity.

    Also, like with K4 I think the images and videos were made using customized shaders which would have also been missing if you either deleted or didn't install the standard assets that are in the packs. Again, they are there but I think the rating was fair based on the fact that anything customized should have been done so in a way that it didn't depend on those original standard assets.

    I actually kind of feel bad. I think I recommended this pack to you when you were looking for desert stuff. At the time, this was the most affordable option out there for any kind of collection of desert models. Personally I kind of like the cacti and stuff in the desert scene. And there are things throughout the pack that I think I should be able to retexture and re-use. But then again I was lucky enough to get all three packs when they were on sale for $25 each. So I guess from a financial perspective, I can really relate. And it is no wonder you aren't happy with other model packs after having just reviewed Village Interiors. It is going to be hard to beat the value there.

    Overall, I don't think this is a bad pack. But compared with other assets that are out there in that $50 range, I definitely agree it is time for Schmidt to either give the pack some love with PBR / additional content updates or move it to the $20-25 price point.

  6. Steve Jeffrey

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Eck…that one should be downgraded to Free. Loved the vid though, of course.

  7. zak stannard

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    damm you can see some effort has gone into creating the models and when games like skyrim came out it was probably up there with all great assets but sadly it doesn't even meet the expectations of free asset packs now lol. hope im not being too harsh with this comment.

  8. Christopher Teichert

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    What a crap 😀

  9. Laura Wampfler

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    This is an old pack . People need to be aware that some older packs were not updated for Unity 5. Textures especially. Look at when it was released. It is your responsibility to see that it was first released for Unity 3!! Rather unfair to judge based on modern graphical requirements.

  10. ROUGE

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Hey that game looks like unturned on low graphics

  11. Human Unit

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    you can still salvage this if you generate some additional metallic and glossiness textures and use the standard material shader. Didn't cost 50 bucks though.

  12. Deepankar singh

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Did you tried any HQ grass assets?
    Alternative to this pack would be village exterior pack.. I guess I have not tried that

  13. pineapple party

    February 17, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    LOL at when you were depressed and then realized you were staring at horse poops. I noticed the shack/houses had huge doorways so if you scaled the building they would be the size of a shed probably. Also when you were walking around on the rocks they looked exactly like the rocks in the old version of Rust.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *